SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-07-25 @ 11:02 p.m.
All in 60 Seconds



The traffic light changed, and I started across the six lanes of traffic. I looked at the drivers of the cars waiting at the red light as I always do - observing, not staring. The first guy was a middle-aged Asian guy in a sedan-type vehicle. The next guy was a middle-aged white guy in a rust heap with the front bumper roped into place.

I was just recalling a snippit of an article from the Toronto Star... not sure where I was reading it... but it was by a middle aged lady that was regretting not enjoying recieving cat-calls when she was young and hot. My mind snaps back to reality when this Rust Heap guy leans out his window with a lear and says, "Hey there, how are you doing?"

OK, so I hurry across the next few lanes of traffic, and just as I reach the curb this Dumpster Diver collapses onto the ground and his shopping cart starts rolling... It was all slow motion.. Dumpster's slow crumple to the ground, followed by the rattle-rattle-ping-rattle of the shopping cart toward the intersection of Kingsway @ Broadway, and me turning on my right heel and reaching out to catch the hurtling cart.

So there I am pushing Dumpster's cart along Broadway. It stinks.

Meanwhile Dumpster is rolling about on the pavement either on some acid trip or exhausted with the heat. Or probably 'just' schitzo. He says thanks, though, and I look him right in the eyes. Brilliant blue, sapphire blue sparkling out of the mushroom brown of his filthy skin. I asked if he was OK. It was as if I wasn't speaking at all. He was in his own world, and the cars hummed behind me.


Roots | Shoots