SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-01-23 @ 5:53 p.m.
Chick embryos



"Shannon... are you OK?"

My boss can see that my insides are corroding. The torment is showing in my eyes and seeping out of my skin.

A week of bad balances that week of splendor.

I spent the morning examining unhatched quail eggs. Some were stagnant and gelatinous. Others contained perfectly formed chicks unable to break out of their shells... their eyes shut against light they'd never live to face.

For a moment I forgot about everything. I sang along with the music, completely absorbed in the mindless work. I'll be OK. It will all be OK.


Roots | Shoots