SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-01-30 @ 2:06 p.m.
Baby dreams, snowy farm



My alarm woke me up this morning, which is unusual. I know that I've been pushing myself in too many directions for the past while, and this is strong supporting evidence.

The reason that I mention being woken up by my alarm is because I was in the midddle of an interesting dream. Sure I have the flying dreams and the sex dreams, but I've never in my life had the 'baby' dream. Yes, as in Ally McBeal. I was sitting in the kitchen of a country home, nursing this newborn child. I remember cringing at the pain of the suckling child. There was a strong sense of love. I can still see the baby's face, and I know that I loved him. Sitting here now, I can begin to imagine the pride and love my Mom must feel for me.

The weather today is absolutely horrible. Normally I would rave about the beauty of the snow, but it is extremely cold out. Wind blows the heavy snow down your collar and my ribs ache with chill. The farm is still beautiful. If you ignore the blustering winds, there is a white field surrounded by capped trees... the sheepdog's prints stray out of the tire-track paths... wheelbarrows are abandoned with their white loads.

Jeff and I have been immortalized against this pastoral backdrop. I, in my overalls and toque, will be forever smiling in some government photo album with the caption "YCA Participants at the UBC Farm".


Roots | Shoots