SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-02-07 @ 11:18 p.m.
I am a clone.



Mountains are blue. They were bluer than the sky today. It looked as if the mountains were the sky cut out of the clouds... windows out of our shrouded city... freighters sitting on the windowsill... shifting lazily with the tides.

The robins have returned to campus. They sound like summer nights on the patio. Only it's not summer... the rain drizzles constantly. But the robins are the first sign of life returning. Heather blooms a purple haze over the front of the library.

I changed my attitude today. I decided that I would go for one day ignoring all my preconceptions of the generic UBC student. I smiled to those that I passed between classes, and I chatted with the girl next to me just before my Econ midterm. I actually went to a keener's networking session and met a handful of "contacts for my future". Maybe I am the clone going around thinking everyone else is boring. Maybe I really am the boring one.

I sat in the library at 8pm taking notes from journal articles. Only one guy was left in the whole side of the library... I ached to see what he was working on. My eyes stayed on my books like the generic UBC clone that I am.


Roots | Shoots