SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-03-02 @ 10:38 a.m.
Quoted



"You need to find a guy who's a shuffleboard pro" Dennis re: my boy hunt

"We are all donut shaped.. hole down the middle... some of us are rather more donut like than others" Prof discussing the digestive system.

It's been a crazy few days. Suddenly I have some kind of a life. Purple Onion Thursday night for a friend's band's gig. Same old songs. Same old crowd. Including Dave. It had been forever since we really talked.. without a boyfriend hanging off my arm. At one point he had his arm around me and was trying to convince me to go for a walk with him. As tempting as it was, it really helped me to remember why we aren't together. Friends. That's it. Of course I still love him, but its more of a sister-type love. I can dream in my head that it's something different, but that night was a reality check.

He said something that really made me think, though. He has a way of doing that. "Relax!". I am really tense. Last night at the pub with the crew, I tried to relax. Physically and mentally. After 5 beer it finally happened. That will be what I work on for the next bit. Open body language. Relaxed. Confident enough with myself to just "chill". Why am I tense? Constantly looking around at who's got skinnier thighs.. who's got the hot boys.. who the single guys are paying attention to... arghh why do I care?

After I was relaxed I started talking to some guy friends about my cute lab-partner "project".

Advice from drunk guy-friend #1: "Just go up from behind him and nibble his hear and say *raaawwwwlllleeeerrrr*"

Advice from drunk guy-friend #2: "Yeah sounds like he's at least a bit interested for sure. I mean you're a cool girl and you're hot...why wouldn't he be at least a bit interested" (hot?? man, he must have been way more drunk than he seemed)

Advice from drunk-guy friend #3: "Confidence is a turn on. By you going up to him, he'll at least be flattered and feel good about himself, so he probably won't be all mean and completely deny you. He should be honest about what he thinks. He's a smart guy. Don't worry."

Advice from drunk-guy friend #4: "Invite him over to work on your lab report... bring out the candles, wine, a bowl of grapes.. turn down the lights.. and cue the Barry Manilow.."

They really make me laugh. They nearly make me want to go to grad school. Nearly. New lambs at the farm. New chicks too. Pink blossoms just peaking out of the branches of the fruit trees. Change is coming. Something is going to happen. In two weeks... I swear something's going to happen.


Roots | Shoots