SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-03-06 @ 9:37 p.m.
Perfect



I knelt to search for trapped quail eggs, and I saw that a bird appeared to be struggling. They get caught often. This one was different: somehow it managed to get its wingband around a wire, like thread though a needle. I had to push her down to get the wing at the right angle to release her handcuff. She struggled, but quickly she submitted. She staggered over to drink some water, and that's when I noticed how long her claws were. A quick glance to the next cage revealled that they all have long twisted claws. Wire cages don't keep them worn down as they would be in the wild. Next room, I pulled a chick out of the feed trough where it was being suffocated: consequence of its gluttony. Third room, I pulled a CPQ by its feet to free it from being wedged in a metal clasp. They peck blindly at their feed troughs... habit so deeply engrained... like horses that crib. And there I am, volunteering hours so that they can live.

So 4 hrs with the birds in the morning.. 4 hrs of classes.. then 4 hrs of helping with the laming. Am I a full time student or a full time volunteer?? But I got to heard sheep across a paved road.. with nothing but my arms and my voice.. and lots of leg work. New skill: ear tagging lambs. And I have hay down my bra.

All of that farm time let me think about what happened with Peter. It is utter irony. When we first met, and I discovered that he was Catholic, I was very concerned. I was afraid that I'd do or say something to offend him or his family. And then, the reason that we part is because he wants sex. And I, the agnostic, feel that love should come before sex. Funny that. It sure makes me want to get involved with religion. But I guess he'll confess on Sunday and it'll all be ok. Whatever makes him happy.

"I think you should seriously try with Cowboy," Chris says.

"Why?"

"'Cause he really likes you, and he'll wait for you. And I think he will know how to get you interested."

"Ida know.. he's going away for a couple months, and then I'm probably leaving town too..."

"Perfect! Then you really won't have to deal with any physical pressure!"

Perfect.


Roots | Shoots