SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-06-03 @ 10:17 p.m.
Bleeding Hearts



When you get up at dawn, you get to see a whole different assortment of creatures. My first treat yesterday morning was a cedar waxwing - a bird that I've always wanted to see in real life. My second treat was a huge rolly-polly skunk hippity-hopping across the road.

Raced a 5k. Well, I thought I was really running, but by my time, I'll tell people that I was just jogging. Still, I think 27 mins is allright considering I've only been biking for the last month. My dad, Mr. 40-minute 10K, didn't say anything positive about my time. But that's OK. That's just Dad.

The forest is tangled now. The blackberries are beginning to choke up the understory, and the maples have filled up the middlestory with new green chaos. Fallen branches reach out as snakes, grabbing for ankles, seething with contempt. Salmon berries are ripening, which reminds me that highschool is nearly out. Grazing on salmon berries while trekking through the ravine home from highschool is most definitely an end-of-year memory.

And the flowers that are in bloom are the bleeding hearts.

The metamorphosis of the forest is rather fitting.


Roots | Shoots