SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-06-06 @ 11:50 p.m.
Napa Valley Red



I did it. I pulled up my courage and went to a party at a coworkers house. She's 40-something. And the youngest coworker there was ten years older than me. But her son, aged 21, was fairly cute.

So two glasses of red wine. No dinner because of class. I'm good. Really good. But I still didn't talk much. But I showed up. My motivation was that I wouldn't get all of the 'in' jokes if I didn't attend.

Hygenist: "You need to floss or else you will get cavities between your teeth, and you'll get gum disease.
Me: "I just never remember to. My mother never got me into the habit."
Dentist (later): "You have perfect teeth. Never a cavity. Strongest enamel I've seen in a while. Keep it up!"

Since I'm rather buzzing, I can talk about ditzy type things and get away with it. So I chatted with Kevin last night on ICQ. He is a long time ICQ friend. He saw me once playing pool in a pub , recognized me from a photo, but we've never actually met; just telephone and ICQ. Anyhow, I was disappointed that he didn't call me up when he was in town for his grad. He didn't think I had the same phone number. ANYHOW, he told me things that nobody's ever said to me before. Completely honest. I feel very strongly for him, though it's more of a brother-type love. The brother I never had. But it's also something more.

There are three provinces between us.

On my way out this morning, the hot tractor driver asked if I had a key to a certain barn. As we wandered over together he asked about where I was going. It will never get old, telling people that I do stemcell research. Maybe he's got friends that will be around.

Ahh well. As long as Mommy thinks that my hair shines a 'nice' colour in the sunlight, everything is great. And Deuce has warmed up the bed. So I better sleep.

One more thing. Check out the famous (ex)Chris. Or, more recently. Real? You guess.


Roots | Shoots