SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-06-13 @ 10:49 p.m.
Like a Cat



There was a door ajar in the dairy barn. It was open a crack, and a bare light bulb hanging from the ceiling cast a beam of light out onto the concrete before me. It was one of those doors that you just never notice. You assume it's just a closet. Or electrical panels.

But I looked inside. And there was a staircase. I crept up silently. I listened for movement. Utter silence.

It went up, then around a corner, then up, then around a corner, and the heat increased intensely on this 22 degree evening.

I was in the hay loft - a hay loft I didn't know existed. I gently walked to the edge and peered over at the cobweb dusty chasm below. Each footstep generated a serious groan from the tired wood flooring.

Then I saw another door. This one came with a warning about no entry except authorized personnel with a valid permit. I looked at my feet. Then I looked at the door. Then at the doorknob.

My heart lept just a bit as a cool breeze squeezed in through the door as it swung open. Then I nodded and smiled. A sliver of moon. The tops of trees. And a maze of wooden trestles across the tar-paper rooftop. I walked to the edge and surveyed my kingdom.

I walked back to the door and noticed a ladder. I'd come this far. One rung, two rungs, cobweb, three rungs, four rungs. This time it was the top of the world. Well, this quaint little world. I walked the trestles to the center of the building and looked up. I found my meteor shower watching location. Bring it on, August, bring on the falling stars.


Roots | Shoots