SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-06-17 @ 8:21 p.m.
These Days



At work today I wrote a synopsis of camping this weekend, but I forgot to email it to myself. Instead I'll tell the other moments that are post-carded in my mind from the last few days.

[Mopping The Floor] I was mopping my linoleum-tiled floor. My two-year old neighbour comes running in, "Heeyy what are you doing?". I ask her to please not walk on the places I just mopped. She ignores me and starts running towards the stuffed monkeys on my bed. Just like a cartoon, her feet flip out from underneath her and she is thrown onto her back. Her face slowly reddens as she begins to wail. I pick her up, tsk-tsk'ing and saying I Told You So. I carry her on my hip to her kitchen and hand her off to her Mom with a shrug and an apology.

[The Vineyard] I go down to see how the vineyard is doing. I pruned it in February. The grass around it is so high, so so high, up to my thighs. Miniture clusters of grapes have developed. When I get home, my legs are two giant hives. The only thing to do is stand in the bathtub and sprinkle on baking soda.

[Picket Fence] I went home to find my camping gear before the trip. The garden is tangled perfect right now. The mock orange is blooming and releasing this incense that intoxicates me back to when I was 6. I climb up and sit on top of the Japanese Cherry. I bury my nose in a magenta rose entwined in the trellis. The picket fence is gleaming white in the summer sun.

[Run] We are at the liqour store stocking up for camping. We head to Safeway for OJ and jalepeno chips. He spots my ex first. We stand there and chat, the four of us, in an awkward quadrilateral. He is sunburned as usual and his red hair on fire. There is nothing more to say; friends become strangers when they go east for university.

[The Ark] We have two new animal-types on the farm now. Ducks waddle about in the grass outside my bedroom window. It's raining right now and they are rummaging around in the grass. Gerbils now live in our laundry room. One is half-blind. They were found in the carrot patch. We presume that they escaped from some grad student's project.


Roots | Shoots