SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-06-30 @ 11:38 p.m.
When



It is a quiet lonliness, as lonely as one can be amongst 4 dogs and two cats. It's playing the keyboard with headphones, it's reading on the couch with the door just so slightly ajar, it's sitting down to watch TV only to turn it off 10 minutes later in favour of the cat.

The beach today, yeah the water was pulled up on itself revealing long curving sandbars. I lay down to read, glanced through the grassy windows, and fell asleep. Sun warmed my back and the wind and lapping water blended into a white silence.

Bongo drums woke me up at sunset. I peddled by them on the way home and tried to smile. There's nothing wrong. Why is there so much emptiness?

~:8:~

I've been trying to call Dave for the past two days, but his cell phone isn't working. His family is moving this weekend too, so his land-line is disconnected. I needed his advice on something decidedly unimportant.

About this time 3 years ago, I fell in love with him. I tried to remember the moment I knew I was in love. It was before I was his girlfriend. The very moment I realized my love, we were at a friend's cabin that clung to the steep shore of a glacier-fed lake. We were playing a drinking game - Truth. No, it was the night before... This night, some people were out on the dock watching for shooting stars and others were grilling thick steaks and corn-on-the-cob. I went up to the attic where 5 sleeping bunks were located. It was dark, black, nothingness, but my mind was all colours. I thought about his hands, his hugs, and his intense attention to me. I then saw how we'd been wrestling on the couch earlier - how much he'd made me laugh and scream in play. I decided there. As if he'd been reading my mind, he came up the ladder in search of me. That's when.

That means that it will come again. Any day now, it will come.


Roots | Shoots