SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-07-16 @ 12:54 a.m.
Texada



Third load of laundry is nearly done.

Back from the island; 3 ferry rides later... 12 hours ago I was walking along the shore through bleached yellow knee-high grasses, hair damp with salty water.

Friday night I slept in a hammock strung between two pines near the shore. There was a slight breeze that rocked in time to the rollers just 30 feet away. The stars above, Real Stars! I woke up to a pale blue sunrise and to the rustling grasses below me.

No electricity, no running water, no telephone wires. This is where you really live. Eight friends, two I've known since the beginning of my time. Saturday night drinking Taboo, Melissa kissing me and telling me she loves me - proceeding to go outside and puke, veggie dogs on the fire, card game after card game, hikes up to the point, fishing...

The guys made a raft. Quite impressive. They took me and Melissa on a 'sunset cruise' on Sunday night. They promised we "wouldn't even get our feet wet" (like we would care anyhow), and made a pathway of beach rocks out to their landed craft. They paddled us out and back, showing us a jelly fish and the beautiful sunset. And they sang, of course.

When we first arrived on Friday evening, I ran to the water. I left my clothes in a pile on the shore and jumped in. I went way, way out, and lay on my back forever. Forever breathing that sea air. The sky was going dark red-orange by the time I swam in. I sat on the porch wrapped in a towel and heard them talking within: "Is she in yet? That seal was stalking her last time I looked out. It's starting to get dark. Isn't she cold yet?" I got up and walked to the outhouse pretending I didn't hear. "The water is awesome," I later explained.

Yeah, it sure was awesome. I wish I could hear the waves right now. I wish I could look out and see the cruise ships sailing by. I wish I could dive down and hear the rocks snap together in the changing tides.

Mmmmmmm memories. I'll get through.


Roots | Shoots