SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Sunday, Dec. 29, 2002 @ 11:06 am
Bah Hum Bug



So I could talk about Christmas, how Granny nearly dumped the flaming pudding across the dining room as she tripped over the rug.. how my big present was a set of cutlery.. how my sister got a car stereo... how my mother gave me lipstick and mascara... how we sat around and listened to the old recoding of Dylan Thomas droning out A Child's Christmas in Wales.

It is all the same as every year, though. And only one uncle inquired about my relationship status. And that same uncle was the only one to inquire about my current career pathway.

I could talk about going over to the Christmas Train - the whole thing a set-up for Miss S and my old tequila-flame. And how they adore each other. Yay.

And then I could describe the next night at the Blarney - yes, the second set-up a mere 24 hours later. Oh there were poignant moments there, such highschool moments, as I made sure that they ended up side-by-side on the same wooden bench. And then later, on the dance floor, as drunk 19 year-old guy after drunk 19 year-old guy tried to talk to her. Just to her.

But I won't. Because I'm not bitter. Really, I'm not bitter at everyone that has importance in my life.

Oh yeah, and there's one more thing I won't talk about: "What do I wear tonight? Jeans or pants?? Arghh I'm sooo nervous. Snowboard shop guy is sooooo hot!"

I've made one big decision, though. I'm moving out of here at the end of April. I've had enough. I want my weekends back. I'm tired of the sheep yelling at me each morning for their alfalfa cubes. I'm tired of being woken up at 4am by the little one being fussy next door. I don't think my sanity would survive living here through grad school. IF I do grad school. Eh. One decision at a time.


Roots | Shoots