SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Monday, Dec. 30, 2002 @ 2:05 pm
(Unsent) Letter



Dear Farm Manager,

As you know, I will be finishing my university courses in April. I have made no firm decisions regarding grad school, and therefore I will be relinquishing the suite and duties of the student caretaker position on May 1.

I have enjoyed the opportunity to be a part of the farm. However, I wish to tell you of certain aspects of this job that continually wore on my level of satisfaction.

One large difficulty I faced was the feeble feedback on my work performance. The only times I ever recieved any comment on my work were when I had done something wrong - usually in the form of a scrawled abrupt note. It is definitely necessary to be corrected, but in my opinion it is as equally necessary to be rewarded with kind words of appreciation. The lack of positive reinforcement led me to constantly feel as if I was scrambling to make up for my last mistake - even if that mistake was weeks earlier.

I understand that the management was perhaps annoyed that I was not available weekdays for most of my term here, but never was it mentioned that there would be a weekday time requirement. I was equally frustrated with the farm for not offering me a market garden labour position after the last winter where I, with only the help of then Volunteer Coordinator Erin, pruned the vineyard as the snow fell. Furthermore, the hours that I put into the muddy tireless pumpkin patch should have spoken volumes about how I could have been dedicated to a Monday to Friday job on the farm.

Notwithstanding, I will always remember living here. I can only hope to live on a farm again when I retire. Good luck with the operation, and I look forward to hearing how the fate of the farm pans out.

Sincerely,

S.F.

P.S. Be sure to inform the next student of the thinness of the walls separating their bed from a toddler and a baby.


Roots | Shoots