SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Sunday, Apr. 27, 2003 @ 12:31 am
Usage



Tonight, after declining several invitations (including the stagette party and an evening with Should-have-stayed-a-fling) I half-heartedly studied for a few hours then went out for a walk in the dark.

Flip-flops and a discman. Feels like summer here. Smells like summer. My face is burning red from hours of jogging underneath the power lines.

I stop in a shadow to see who�s at the benches. Two girls. One with dyed-red hair, the other wearing a studded collar and raccoon eyeliner. One, two� three. Three is Dave�s former best friend, sauntering towards the girls with his guitar slung across his back. Beyond them I see the singer from Dave�s band. He�s everywhere here even when he�s not.

I come out of the shadow and walk past. Nobody expects me to be back here. They are involved in conversation. I flip-flop away.

Should-have called this afternoon. I didn�t answer. I know he�s more into me than I am into him. That�s very obvious. He told me that he is always afraid of breaking hearts, so I�ll relieve him of that worry.

This way of going about relationships is so much better for my confidence. Despite the appearance of rushing into a physical relationship, on that night of the fair the only clothes removed were my socks. I forced him to meet my mother. I made him drop me off before 11pm. Evil? Evil. Yet he still calls. There is the confidence.

I think I just used a guy.


Roots | Shoots