SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Sunday, Aug. 24, 2003 @ 11:05 pm
Saltspring Island I



Seal between my knees, round, wriggling, big black eyes tearing as she cries. Herring in right hand, into the mouth, down the throat. I let her rest.

Zoom out: me on the pool deck, blue liner reflecting strangely on the tall cedar forest above, me in yellow rubber overalls, hair a-mess. Straddling a sleek seal pup, herring in a bucket beside me.

Zoom in: the little teeth sharp on my fingers inside his mouth. The fish oil glistening on my face. Tears in her eyes. Whose eyes?

A fantastic feeling of going somewhere. Big brown eyes of the fawn, big yellow eyes of the owl. Seeing everything, those eyes, seeing the future among these eyes.


Roots | Shoots