SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Friday, Mar. 26, 2004 @ 10:07 am
City of Grass



The quintessential Vancouver, the blood that is within me. If only I could write something static, because these times right now (those seconds that just passed) are moments of nostalgia I will yearn for.

I have been touched by magic hands. In the womb I was prodded and examined by the man who raised a literary genius, and only because my head distended to contain this euphony of words did he not catch me in my first moment of Vancouver. Perhaps it would have been too much, the constriction on my head and the twisting torture of the birth canal, followed by an explosion into those magic hands. No, the work was done in utero, and it was enough.

What comes next is so Vancouver it makes me ache with lust, because it is the city pushing me down and running its skytrains down my neck, rowing its dragonboats through my hair. What comes next is a Blackcomb of boxes and a flurry of styrofoam peanuts.

The house is beneath where the crows gather. They fly there every evening in an elastic flock, to the gathering place, where we too will gather. Before us, the house held plants, a jungle of resinous whispering narcotic, green before I ever arrived. It'll be ours in seven days, our growhouse heaven.

Today we sign the lease, a lease on life, our life, real life. This is what I have been waiting for.


Roots | Shoots