SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Sunday, Apr. 24, 2005 @ 6:30 pm
April Camping



Orchids... Do you remember the Love Potions? The three orchids of last summer, and I gathered the most common - the Rattlesnake Plantain - and tried to force it on my windowsill as a memory of a perhaps-love found. I threw it out a while ago; I realized that love doesn't need magic potions to grow.

I let the orchids fall from my mind. Yet still they follow me and remind me of love. We hike the Post Creek trail and there to the left of the edge of the trail a small wonder catches my eye.


Listera cordata, Chilliwack Lake Park

You slight orchids, how and why do I keep finding you? Flowers like swallows fly in place, hovering above the moss, quivering in the wind.

I plunge into the lake and the glacier-cold water makes me ache and shake. Beautiful green Lindeman Lake, and you come to share these things with me, perhaps with more amazement than I can express.



Thunder cracks above us and rain falls in huge droplets. We run down the logging road, but you let me stop to see the trilliums in their perfect spring-sprung ternary beauty. I want to lick the rain from the waxy flower's face.

Dusk falls and we've got a fire and a blue tent and beers, and it's good to be on the lake in April. It's good to be here in April.




Photo Album of Trip


Roots | Shoots