SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Monday, Aug. 14, 2006 @ 12:08 pm
Kelowna and Mt Crown



Curled up on the couch, I listen to the traffic and Daniel's restless breathing from the bedroom. I can't sleep, turning over and over, my body and my head, I was supposed to be something. Something went wrong somewhere and I gave up, gave in, but all those choices brought me to Daniel, so I can hardly regret the way things have gone. It's just that now, now that I can go somewhere, I'm grounded by my resume, a lead weight. Useless, this isn't what I want a piece of paper to say about me. We made a plan though, it might all fall apart, but we're going to get out of here. Moving to the Island. The Big Island. An Employment Insurance lottery ticket, taking a chance, that there might be relief from the Vancouver Disease. The suburbs, the congestion, the unplanned communities of cheaply built identical houses. The ethnic mosaic, everyone ignoring each other and glaring at each others temples, churches. The street racers waking me early Sunday morning, my heart racing faster than their stupid cars, in terror.



Riding the old Kettle Valley Railway:





Throught the old burned area






Daniel saw a loose bolt.






My aunt thought we should have a couple picture taken.






They redid this trestle in iron at some point.






Fireweed






Cooling off at Chute Lake






Sign collection in the barn at Chute Lake Lodge






Poking around in the barn






Ghost trestle






My aunt peering into the tunnel. "Keep Out"? Yeah right.






From inside the tunnel






How the rail workers made bread.


Hiking Mt Crown:



Peter and Daniel eyeing up the pyramid and camel


Daniel on the very top of the pyramid






Looking down the infamous Hanes Valley






Ridges






Boulder fields


Roots | Shoots