SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2008 @ 8:51 pm
Wake Up



We live on the siren route. Double pained windows. This is the city.

The alarm goes off at seven a.m. At the same time, a float plane in the harbour roars into the air.

I wake early now. The movement of the people, so busy in their lives, makes me feel guilty for being in bed.

Another siren. These are not crime sirens; these are seniors' sirens. I watch them from above, the seniors, on their long walk down the block. More coats than bodies.

I pace the hallway of our new apartment: 50 years old. I'm occupying too much space. My hair has grown so long, too long for my age. My age.

I watched a nurse hold open the door for one of the paramedics. No rush. Were you the one who was here yesterday?

Deep in the night, voices wake me. A couple walks by, arguing their last disagreement. She says,

You have no more chances.




Roots | Shoots