SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Thursday, Oct. 23, 2008 @ 4:11 pm
The Wallet



I got off the bus just a few minutes ago.

I left school right after class ended today, because we're going to see Bob Dylan tonight. I wasn't supposed to go, but Daniel couldn't find someone more 'worthy' of his second ticket, so now I get to go.

Anyhow, I'm trying to figure out why I acted the way I did on the bus. Here's what happened.

I was sitting in the front of the bus, and there was a kid sitting across from me, and he was maybe 15 or 16 years old. He was wearing super trendy clothes, ball cap, plugged into probably an Ipod.

He pulled the stop cord for the second to last stop on the route. There were only three of us left on the bus: me, him, and a young nurse in scrubs. She was nearer the back. Anyhow, he hasn't really prepared to get off the bus, and his bag is unzipped when he stands up. He fumbles around with all of his personal accessories, making his way for the front door, and his wallet falls onto the floor. His wallet is CAMOUFLAGE.

I lurch, point, and say, in a reasonably loud voice, "You dropped your wallet." He hasn't heard me because he is plugged in. He didn't notice stepping over his wallet because it blended in with the floor.

At this point, what a moral person would have done would be to pick up the wallet and run out of the bus after the kid.

What I did was sit there.

I was thinking in my head how the kid is stupid to be so plugged into his music that he ignores the real people that exist in his personal space. How he did not plan ahead for having to get off.

At the next and last stop, I got off, thanking the driver as usual (which is what everyone does here in Victoria). The driver will have found the wallet by now. The kid might be panicking... And I am feeling guilty.


Roots | Shoots