SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2009 @ 6:56 pm
Comfort Zone



I'm going to play volleyball tonight. With girls. With girls who I don't know.

This is totally out of my comfort zone. I haven't had any real girlfriends in many years. Well, I have a couple of girlfriends who live out of town - and I do see them once or twice a year - but never something like this. Not that they are actually my friends yet.

There is a girl at work, well, a woman, I suppose, who I get along with very well, even though we are in completely different life stages (ie. she is married and has a son). She invited me out to play a season of 'fun' league volleyball at the Y.

The thing is, I hate volleyball. At least I used to. I hated having to communicate and be assertive with a team (ie. "MINE!"). I hated having red, swollen forearms. I hated the feeling of that crackled grey heavy ball.

I said yes. I wouldn't let myself think about it. I made myself say yes. And now, in half an hour, I will meet these girls to play volleyball.


Roots | Shoots