SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Thursday, Apr. 22, 2010 @ 7:42 am
A Month of Busy



It's been 33 days since I last had time to sit down and think. Even so, this hardly qualifies as quality thinking time because I only have less than ten minutes before I have to start drying my hair and packing my lunch.

Busy? Yes. But there must be a different word for this magnitude of busy. Add a superlative.

We moved into the new house. Moved out of the old one. Yes, those are two different tasks. I've moved, oh, every year for the last 12 years. I'm fairly organized and efficient at it, but it's still a heck of a lot of work. Add home renos into the mix, and it turns into chaos.

We're not doing major renos - just paint and carpet and fixing all of the neglected parts of the house like holey screen doors and squeaky floors. Major things to come include the bathroom and the deck. And the yardwork! My god, have you ever dethached a 1/4 acre of lawn by HAND??? Now that's honest work.

Work? Yeah, that's gone nuts too. I've been sent 300 km west of town and 300 km east of town, back to back, with a night in my own bed in between. I've stayed in wood panelled flea-bag motels, eaten in the diners in the back of gas stations, been served by costumed Mennonite waitresses, and been heckled by men. Standing behind a surveying tripod in a small northern town, "Lookin' good sweetheart!" and he disappears into a cloud of dust kicked up by his truck.

And I've run out of time.


Roots | Shoots