SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2011 @ 11:10 pm
Winter Sundress



So, yeah. Arctic outflow. Windchill warning in effect. Minus 21 Celsius, feels like minus 34. And I'm sewing a sundress.

The pattern is Heather Ross's Mendocino Sundress. I printed it on tile by using MindCAD's Tiler 2.3.1 for Mac. I modified it by removing 6" from the hem right from the start.



Here is as it is right now. It's not entirely finished - I need to do something about how it falls around my waist and hips.



Detail of straps. For once, straps that won't fall down.



Detail of the shirring. I'd never done this before - call it luck, or good intuition, but the tension worked out surprisingly well.



Detail of seaming and hemming. I found pinking shears at a thrift store for $2, and I've been using them at every opportunity.



And the view from the back. You can see here what needs to be worked on. You can also see Alf heading for my pillow, which means that it's time for bed.



Roots | Shoots