SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Sunday, Jul. 24, 2011 @ 7:24 pm
Posting



I'd been hesitant to switch to the other company, the one who offered me a job back when all the drama was going on, mostly because I knew that the bulk of their work is developing sprawling subdivisions. I feel as though I worked through the bulk of my issues at my office, though, and am at a point where I am no longer running emotionally away from some Big Issues but rather would be stepping demurely sideways out of way of an out of control semi truck. If that makes any sense.

Anyhow, a job posting came up with a much larger company in town. The job is more structured, and my tasks would definitely be more limited and/or routine, but I am thinking that there would be more focus on learning from the bottom up instead of from the top down. And I'm hoping that there would be a more developed office culture.

But so many things are running through my head. Right now I have a large bright corner office. I work right downtown, walking distance to the library, drug store, post office, insurance agent, and grocery store. I have a huge amount of independence at the office, and I listen to music some days while I am drafting. Nobody clocks my lunch breaks, nobody asks what I did all day. Does any of this stuff really matter? I think that I could work in a windowless grey box if only there were someone to have a conversation with at lunch.

I worry that it's a step back, that I'm shying away from responsibility, and that I won't get to write reports.

Ack, D is calling me to help him clean up some stuff. It will be a busy week.

I think that I will apply for it.


Roots | Shoots