SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Saturday, Aug. 20, 2011 @ 12:12 pm
Acceptance



I found a solution: negotiation.

I didn't know that I had it in me. Ruthlessly throwing numbers back and forth - I could tell that they really did want to hire me. Slumping economy? Not in the North!!!

"I think you're going to be a really good fit. I like that you stood up for yourself - it's a good trait. It shows character. I'm looking forward to working with you." Says professional sounding man whom I just met over the phone.

I have a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach. Quitting. The family run business - not my family thank God. Two years is the longest I've ever worked somewhere. They are not going to be happy.

We're headed off on two weeks holidays. I will submit my notice on the way out of town, leave it on the office manager's chair and let the fireworks happen in my absence. Sort of cowardly, but this way I can give a month's notice instead of two weeks. That seems fair, right?

I'm proud of myself. I have sacrificed some potential income in the interest of self preservation. I am released from golden handcuffs. Life is more important than money.

New beginnings. Things are looking up.


Roots | Shoots