SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Thursday, Sept. 29, 2011 @ 8:08 pm
End of September





The Gravel Pit.



I've mentioned the gravel pit a few times before. Here it is. I love it and hate it at the same time. Manufactured landscape. Massive scale. Disturbed habitat. On evenings and weekends, people trespass to walk their dogs, ride dirt bikes, and dump yard trimmings. In the winter, they ride snowmobiles instead of dirt bikes. We go here for sunset walks, to pick berries, and in the winter we brave the pit slopes on our Nordic backcountry skis.



The colours are good this fall. By colours I mean yellow. Sun sets at 7pm sharp. Our last Northern autumn?



Is it beautiful here? Will these images, which seem commonplace to me today, later prompt yearning and nostalgia? Am I not really seeing it? Of course I see it, but god is it hard to extract the beauty into pixels.



Late September harvest. It's freezing every night now, and I finally gave up hope of them ripening. To be fair, it was the worst summer this province has seen in several decades. I guess I'm going to be learning about green tomato salsa...



Roots | Shoots