SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Thursday, May. 10, 2012 @ 9:43 pm
Day 4



In the mountains, dry snow falls overnight, and an arctic wind carves curves into the drifts. �Mud frozen into last night's footsteps. �

I drive a pick up along the rough mine roads. �In the afternoon, the top layer of mud dries to a fine dust that whips up behind me. �Orange blinking light and my dust trail, the site radio crackles with white noise.

I stay late over dinner, listening to the boys talk about girls. �I should leave, but I like their generous hearts and quick smiles. �Brandon dissects the ribs, Mike's deep raspy voice, and Matt's bright green eyes. �

Alone in my room, I put in headphones and stretch. �And then I'm up and dancing in my narrow room. �My heart open and relaxed. �The most time that I've had to myself in years. �Feeling more like myself than ever.�

I crack the window to breathe the dry cold mine air. �Looking at the trees that frame the site, the sun setting and the weather changing again.

I actually really like this? �I never expected to find peace here.


Roots | Shoots