SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Saturday, May. 12, 2012 @ 9:21 pm
Night Seven



Today I feel an acute sadness, a loneliness for someone who knows me. �I've spent a week with coworkers that I just met. �The older men are caring and inclusive, but they assume that I am a certain way, and I rarely contradict their assumptions. � And I slide into silence, slipping away from the dinner table to sit alone in my room.

Yesterday a veteran surveyor took me out for a couple of hours. �I'll admit to some harmless flirting; Chris is lean and geeky and loud and brash and funny and energetic and quick and so fast paced that I stand there with my mouth open in laughter while he goes a mile a minute. �Polar opposites, standing as far north as I've been, amongst clapboard shacks of the original geologist camp. �

He takes me into the woods and down a slope of construction scree to place electrical poles. � He drives fast through deep puddles on the haul road. �He turns up the music that he thinks that I like, and I howl with laughter as he rolls down the window in pretend urban cruising. �As we turn into the laydown, he passes me a bracelet from his wrist. �I turn it around in my hands and leave it on the dash. � �Did I warm over his heart? I'd choose him over the rest. �

The sun sets on my seventh night in camp. �I lay on my single bed, listening to music, my window cracked open to let cool air wash down my face. �

A man I met on Monday remembered my name when I ran into him today. �The chef teases me about choosing eggplant over steak. �The safety man calls me young lady, and my coworkers probably think I'm a million years old. �I'm ok, I'm still ok, and I'll get through this. �More smiles, more openness, �this is now and here is now and this is destined to be one of the great experiences of my life.

Breathe the cool mountain air. �I'm loved and cared for and I'm luckier than I even know.


Roots | Shoots