SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Thursday, Jun. 21, 2012 @ 9:01 am
Daydreaming



Frick, there's a lot of things that I should be doing right now - like going to the dump - but I've spent an embarassing amount of time looking at wedding dresses online. Why? I don't know. I guess I'm sick of the awkward reference to my 'boyfriend-husband-partner-person'. I'd like to think that we're getting close to a point where we have the mental capacity to think about getting married.

Daniel and I have been together for close to seven years now, and it's been an intense seven years in which we've accomplished a lot as a couple. We both changed careers. We moved to two different cities. We supported each other through the loss of grandparents. There's been multiple weddings, family breakdowns, amazing holidays. We bought a house and renovated it. We've both gained and lost weight, and we've seen each other at our bests and worsts. Anyway, I think it's getting close to time.

If we do get married, it will be a small affair of probably less than thirty people. It would either be at a west coast beach or mountain location. Possibility for a park wedding in town, but I like the idea of getting everyone away and relaxed and off their phones. It would be a simple ceremony followed by an informal reception dinner at a restaurant. No first dance, no games, no speeches, no cake, no nothing. Just people being together. I'm not interested in being the centre of attention.

I do want a dress, though, if for the photos and nothing else. This is where the challenge comes in. I have a nonexistant bust and broad shoulders. My requirements are more a list of things that I don't want rather than things that I do want: not strapless, not shiny satin, not too plain, not pouffy, not bows, not A-line, nothing 'structural'... I'm thinking something with silk and lace, with some sort of sleeves, in a sheath with a bit of fullness at the bottom. I think when the time comes to look for something like this that there will be a grand total of one dress in this style shoved in the back corner of the store. I don't particularly want a vintage dress, but it appears that anything that is not a strapless A-line gown is labelled as such.

I'll cut to the chase:



This one is pretty good, but it's probably too deep in the bust. The lace isn't quite right either - it's too 'grandma's curtains'.



This is the reason that I don't want shiny: I looks like a night gown.



I love what this one does around the hips. Not too into the flapper flounces around the skrirt.



This one could be really fun. The straps are close to what I'm looking for, and the lace is right.

OK, that's it for my out of character girly musings. Time to take junk to the dump.


Roots | Shoots