SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Sunday, Jul. 08, 2012 @ 7:46 pm
Day 18



Last day at the mine. Last day as supervisor. Just as I'm becoming comfortable with everything, it is over.

Last morning walk down the boardwalks. Last breakfast with the guys. Last morning safety meeting. Last design problem to solve.

I look at myself in the mirror and see evidence of my daily running. I put on my company shirt and stuff my keys on my company lanyard into my hip pocket. Sunlight filters through the blinds in stripes across the 80 square feet of my room.

I tell Chris, the surveyor that took me out back to the old prospectors camp, that this is my last day. He looks at me and I feel something that makes me blush hard and then he starts to talk a lot about things that make it seem as though he really is sad to see me go. He calls me his little pomme de terre. He talks about how he doesn't have a girlfriend and asks me some open ended question about whether men irritate me and I'm totally confused as to what is going on because I'm in the middle of creating a drawing of his survey points while he is spilling his heart over my right shoulder.

And then I kind of realize that maybe his heart is breaking the way that mine did when Matt left. That other people fall in admiration too. That my heart is not the only one to stray.

Hot wind against my bare arms. Full sun in a hazy sky. My feet on this land, north of the 55th parallel. Spruce trees to the horizon. The contents of our hearts spread wide before me.

I'm going home.


Roots | Shoots