SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Monday, Apr. 06, 2015 @ 10:20 am
Oven/Enough



We had my parents over for Easter dinner last night.

We've been going hard for the last three weeks getting organized - painting, unpacking, doing the immediate reno needs. Work has exploded for me, and I've been working until 8 every night, and weekends, stopping for groceries on the way home, stuffing food in my face, and then working on the place under the heat of halogen task lighting until midnight, only to get up at 6:30 the next morning and start all over again.

Yesterday. Up at 6:30am on Easter Sunday. I'm building Ikea cabinets for my project space until 4:30pm, and Daniel is on the patio using the table saw to finish his record cabinet. I realize the time (parents arriving at 5pm), scramble to shove the boxes and baggies of dowels into the laundry closet. Splash my face with water, strip into fresh clothes. Rush out to the grocery store to get the veggies and dinner rolls. Meanwhile D's running the vacuum around, checking the roast in the oven, putting the pot on the stove for the potatoes.

It's fun - I enjoy it all. But then they show up.

And within 10 minutes my father pokes at my stomach and comments about whether there's a bun in the oven. And I want to PUNCH OUT HIS FACE because it's a bloody miracle that there's a three course dinner on the table. And that this place is only two bedrooms, and for the first time in forever I'm actually going to have some space for myself, and that I'm not interested in babies right now at all because for the first time in forever I can actually take a deep breath and not have it echo around a tiny 550 square foot glass condo.

I am endlessly grateful for life right now. I love my job, and I love the new townhouse. I love my new neighbourhood, and I'm healthy and fit and limber and more centered than I've been in a long time. I enjoy every moment of my day - from the hot water raining down on me in the shower, to the delicious fruit I eat for breakfast, the beautiful walk to work, the people at work who support and encourage me, Daniel hugging me and picking me up and swinging me around in the kitchen after work, and the white duvet that falls lightly over me at night.

This is enough. Life is enough. There is so much beauty around me, and for me, it's enough. Is there more? Maybe, but right now, this is enough.

No buns in the oven. No plans for buns in the oven.

This is enough.


Roots | Shoots