SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Wednesday, Dec. 02, 2015 @ 9:14 am
CHILI



I am forcing myself to become more confident with my cooking. I know that I am a good cook, but I'm always worried that other people won't like my food. This worry holds me back from sharing my love and gifts with other people.

One of my goals for the next year is to contribute more to my community. I don't know exactly what that will look like, but I'm dipping my toes around to try to find something that feels right.

This month is about sharing my cooking. Today the entire office is going to eat my vegetarian chili for lunch. I volunteered to make a giant quadruple batch for a kick-off party for our holiday drive. I was up late last night, chopping heaps of onions, grinding piles of cumin in my mortar and pestle. I took extra care to make the slices of carrot even and pretty. And then grating cheddar cheese until my hands ached.

Later this month, I am making date squares for a bake sale. Maybe gingerbread men too. I picked up some nice packaging for the date squares, to make them look more appealing and professional.

I don't know where this is going, but I feel like I could be starting something. If nothing else, getting over my fear of other people being critical of my cooking will be a valuable achievement.

I know that I'm supposed to Begin with the End in Mind, but I'm not ready to dive into that territory yet. I guess that I do have some dreams brewing but am unsure of which I.... no, it's fear. Fear of what? Of wasting time?

Lots to explore here.

But first I need to steel myself against watching the office EAT MY CHILI.


Roots | Shoots