SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

The Birthday Dance - Friday, Dec. 20, 2019
You and Me - Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019
Resilience - Friday, Dec. 13, 2019
Anniversary - Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019
Still Happy - Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2019


Thursday, May. 02, 2019 @ 7:53 pm
On Being Sixteen Again



Less than one hundred hours until I have my own apartment.

Just when I have mastered nomad life. Just when I have fully reverted to my sixteen-year-old self.

I perfected the contents of my urban-professional-looking backpack. Clean underwear rolled up in a Ziploc bag. Toothbrush. Laptop. Self-help book. A tube of de-stressing essential oils. Phone charger. Notebook, pencil, pen, highlighter. Nalgene bottle. Travel sized shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Two 87% cocoa chocolate bars at all times. Passport. Wide-tooth comb, Invisibobble, and a dozen bobby pins. Bathing suit, goggles, and small microfibre towel.

I work in the basement and Mom calls me up for dinner. I read at the table while they chatter on about their day with each other. I grunt one-word responses to their questions.

After dinner, I strap on my rollerblades and skate up and down the street. Cross-over turns at each end. My mind wandering away, thinking about making out with boys. This was every summer night when I was a teenager. Just add Slurpee.


Roots | Shoots