SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

The Birthday Dance - Friday, Dec. 20, 2019
You and Me - Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019
Resilience - Friday, Dec. 13, 2019
Anniversary - Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019
Still Happy - Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2019


Thursday, Aug. 22, 2019 @ 12:49 am
Swing Dancing



Down the stairs into a basement jazz club. Friends have saved seats for us. The room is humid and hot and filled to capacity. I take off my jacket, let down my hair, and order a bourbon sour. I meet a few new people and then Russell leans over and asks me to dance.

We dance the Lindy hop sequence that he taught me in the campground last weekend. Other couples are dancing too but the floor space is small and exposure is high so only the bravest dare to take the stage.

“I saw you dancing with Russell,” Anna says to me later with a sideways grin. “We all want to see you dancing more with him.”


Roots | Shoots