SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

The Birthday Dance - Friday, Dec. 20, 2019
You and Me - Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019
Resilience - Friday, Dec. 13, 2019
Anniversary - Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019
Still Happy - Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2019


Thursday, Oct. 10, 2019 @ 8:45 am
Reading in Bed



He lays in bed next to me and reads aloud from his book. The white duvet light and warm against our bodies. I lay my head on his chest and listen to his voice. He reads about the alpine landscape, the snow and ice and rime. The howling wind. The clink of gear. The slow blink of the eyes when oxygen is low.

He pauses.

“Go on, please don’t stop,” I beg. I look up at his face, the profile of his nose, the book set up against his chest. His hand gently turns the page.

He takes a breath and continues.


Roots | Shoots