SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Nine Months - Monday, Feb. 03, 2020
Perfect - Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2020
Rye and Ginger - Monday, Jan. 20, 2020
Snow/Forever - Thursday, Jan. 16, 2020
Winter Blossoms - Friday, Jan. 10, 2020


Monday, Jan. 06, 2020 @ 12:11 pm
New Year's Eve



We are drunk and midnight strikes and we kiss and leave the cabin to stand outside under the swaying fir trees. The others remain in the cabin. Embers glow in the woodstove. A light rain falls.

After a few moments, we run upstairs to put on warmer clothes for a midnight walk. He pushes the door to the room closed behind us and we hug each other, pressing our bodies against one another and laughing and kissing. Breathless and alive and happy.

“I’m so glad that I found you this year,” he whispers into my ear, kissing down my neck.

“You are the best thing to happen to me this year,” I tell him.

I turn my head and lay my ear on his shoulder, and he turns his head and lays his ear on my shoulder, and the backs of our necks touch, and the most exquisite current of electricity hums down my spine.

***

He sent me a birthday card.

I opened it with shaking hands, studied the painting of a snowy forest that he selected from the store for me. Opened the card to read what he wrote to me.

Large printed words, hastily crafted.


SHANNON.

Happy Birthday 2019!

I hope all is well, and have a great last year of your 30's!

D


Roots | Shoots