SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

The Ring - Tuesday, May. 05, 2020
I Like You - Thursday, Apr. 30, 2020
Dirty Dancing - Tuesday, Apr. 28, 2020
The Time After the Time After - Monday, Apr. 27, 2020
My Person - Friday, Apr. 24, 2020


Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2020 @ 9:52 am
Very Much



We climb into bed and reach for our books. There is one reading light, and as he opens his book I place my head directly in the light to create a shadow across his page.

I playfully gaze at him and stroke his shoulder, and he looks at his book and then back at me and knows immediately what I’m up to. The continuation of a joke from a few nights ago.

He tackles me and pushes me down into the pillows and jokingly says, “Oh my dear, I just love you so very much,” while smooching my face. It’s a ruse to move my head out of the way.

I lay there laughing, and he returns to his reading position and impassively turns a page to simulate reading.

My heart is racing. He slipped. I can see that his mind is cranking through the gears. Shit.

I continue laughing and open my book and start to read.

So there it is. Not how I expected nor exactly the right context.

I can only write half of our story. This rest is by his hand.


Roots | Shoots