SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Quiet - Friday, Jan. 22, 2021
My Voice - Monday, Jan. 11, 2021
Winter Rainstorm - Tuesday, Jan. 05, 2021
The Beach - Monday, Dec. 07, 2020
Bright Lights - Friday, Nov. 27, 2020


Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020 @ 2:24 pm
On Why I'm an Activist for Women in Engineering



I visited three construction sites and attended one client meeting today, and the only woman I crossed paths with the entire day with was flagging traffic. I was referred to as 'the young lady', which was simultaneously endearing and infuriating.

A slick representative from one of the developers asked me directly what my role was on the project, even though I was introduced as being from the engineering consulting company. I am certain that if I were male that he would have assumed that I was a junior engineer.

I dream of a world where I can visit a construction site that is managed by women and staffed with female tradespeople.

Sadly, I have little hope that I will ever experience that in my lifetime.


Roots | Shoots