SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Cut Block - Thursday, Mar. 18, 2021
Spring - Monday, Mar. 01, 2021
February Daffodils - Saturday, Feb. 13, 2021
Scattered Moments - Thursday, Feb. 04, 2021
Quiet - Friday, Jan. 22, 2021


Monday, Jan. 11, 2021 @ 12:20 pm
My Voice



He texts me asking me out ‘for coffee’.

Something inside of me shifts.

I do owe someone something: I owe myself dignity.

I respond to him that I don’t know how we can further our relationship when I did not consent to the sex that he had with me. That a breach of trust of such magnitude is difficult to reconcile.

Four days later, I still await his response.

I now feel empowered. This story will not end here.

I write a letter to the editor of the paper criticizing a white-centered article.

I reschedule a work meeting that is too early for me.

This is the year of my voice.


Roots | Shoots