SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Married Not to Me - Saturday, Aug. 21, 2021
Cox Bay - Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2021
House Guests - Friday, Aug. 13, 2021
Mid-Summer Heat - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2021
Confidence - Thursday, Jul. 29, 2021


Monday, Jul. 26, 2021 @ 11:39 am
Sam Lake



Slipping into a small, cool alpine pond. Lily pads at the edges. Salamanders in the muck at the shore. I wade out across a rock ledge and curl my toes on the edge of the rock. The water is deep and black beyond. I push headfirst into the water. I open my eyes underwater to see the shafts of sunlight beaming through the sepia water. Twisting and turning underwater, the cold water pushing up against my body.

The others sit on the shore, dipping only their toes.

How can you just sit there and not dig into life? Paddling at the edges, when the full experience is available and right in front of you?


Roots | Shoots