SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Ski Instructor Training - Monday, Jan. 09, 2023
Winter Break - Thursday, Jan. 05, 2023
Revelstuck - Saturday, Dec. 24, 2022
Grouse Mountain - Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2022
Night Plowing - Thursday, Dec. 08, 2022


Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2022 @ 9:40 am
Of Course She Loves Him



I dreamed that I saw him asleep with a girl. Her sunkissed hair long, loose around her thin shoulders. He was holding her just the way that he holds me. Of course she loves him, I thought.

I ran away. Absurdly, I tidied the kitchen, unloaded the dishwasher, as I processed what I’d seen.

Them together in the tent, the sleeping bags nestled around them. Her pretty bra, lavender lace. Their bodies entwined, their breath softly moving in and out, in sleep.

I wanted to yell at him. I wanted to yell out the hurt.

I ran again, this time back towards the tent, and this time the wind was so strong that I could not gain ground. An impossible distance to travel, all the way across that neatly trimmed lawn.

I couldn’t catch my breath.

I didn’t have the strength to yell.

Don’t do this to me.

Don’t do this to us.


Roots | Shoots