SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-03-14 @ 9:25 p.m.
I've Got it Baaad



"The first rule of teaching is: If the light shines on your face, you are creating a shadow."
Advice from econ prof to student presenting regarding verhead projectors.

Ok, so econ was a highlight of my day. I have another story.
Two teams went up to the front of the room for our midterm review prep class. One team was all female, and they wrote on the chalkboard "Team Tuition". The other team was all males, and they wrote up on the board "Team Teststerone". The class roared with laughter at the name and then at the spelling error. The prof said, "Hey guys, do something about that name!". The stupid guys thought that he was offended by the sexual reference of their chosen name, so they erased part of the word to read "Team Test". Somewhat worse actually ahahah. Anyhow, the prof explained that the name was fine, just that the spelling was off. Meanwhile the class is snickering relentlessly. So one guy picks up the chalk and alters it to "Team Testostorone". The snickering rises up to a climax. Finally a girl from the now "Team Estrogen" picks up the chalk and fixes their spelling. Ya, it was a moment. Perhaps you had to be there.

In my WHIMIS course, the teacher explained the difference between "training" and "education".
"Your child comes home from school and explains how she got sex education. Your reaction would be very different if she came home and described her sex training." Hmmm appropriateness of the analogy is very questionable.


I delivered a lamb today at the farm. She lay on the ground for a moment before snorting and wriggling around. Her mom immediately started to lick and clean her. I watched in disbelief. An hour earlier I was in Buchannan sitting in some graffitied desk listening to a virtually useless lecture. And then I was watching the whole purpose in the life of a sheep unfold before my eyes.

Chris made me cry last night. And then again as I hauled to class in the morning. Why does it upset me so much that he brought flowers and a card to the girl in his math class who was sick? Right now Boy II Men's "Everything is You" is reinforcing my melancholic mood. I wiped a tear off my cheek just before seeing and talking to my lab partner crush. I stared so hard into his eyes, soaking up any particle of his soul that I could get out of them. He is clueless. I am hopeless. Hopelessly fallen for him.


Roots | Shoots