SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


2002-06-25 @ 7:35 p.m.
Roots



I spin around in my mind, and images snap on and off like flashbulbs at some Hollywood affair. Flash, it's Chris and he is nibbling at the little divet at the base of my neck. Flash, I am at the ranch, under the willow, breathing sage. Flash, I am dancing in a club with the ex-coworker Joe, and he tries to kiss me on the lips. Flash, I'm running through House High Hay in Grandma's field.

This goes on and on, the photo album in my mind. But it's more than an album because there are tastes and sounds and feelings.

I lay on the sand yesterday and viewed the world from between the thick blades of seagrass. Well, no, it was not seagrass, but that word flows so nicely from one's lips. Let's restart. I lay on the sand yesterday and viewed the world from between thick blades of sedge. Through my grass picture frame, I watched the dogs wrestle in the sand. The scene absorbed me, and I began to think about the Grandma.

Mindlessly, I curled my toes around and uprooted the thick blades of grass. Uprooted, like us. Far, far from home, but then again, home doesn't really exist for us anymore. Who stayed there, in the homeland, to fight their war? So where is home? Is it still home when you are expatriated? Or should we call the Kootenays our home - where the apples and peaches hang heavy off the trees? Other people have that as their home, though, the Kootenay people.

My last name hides my blood lines. "Well with a first name like that you must be Irish, and that last name is sure as heck British of some sort."

I never talked to Grandma for two reasons. First, she had a hearing aid. Second, I didn't speak the language. And now how I wish I would have asked her to teach it to me. I wish I hadn't rolled my eyes as she cited the same stories over and over. She could have taught me to garden and to make borscht, and I could have taught her about science. I showed her once how far away California was - she was amazed that oranges could grow so close to us. You see, back in her day, she was a miracle in that she passed her grade 3 curriculum being legally deaf.

Flash, I'm stumbling in the dark of the chicken coop, sweeping cobwebs off my face. Flash, I'm passing firewood up from the cellar though the hole in the floor. Flash, we build forts with hundereds of egg cartons. Flash, I'm looking out though the window to the East at sunrise. The light curtain flutters around me, and the wind washes me in green lightness.


Roots | Shoots