SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

The Birthday Dance - Friday, Dec. 20, 2019
You and Me - Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019
Resilience - Friday, Dec. 13, 2019
Anniversary - Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019
Still Happy - Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2019


Saturday, May. 18, 2019 @ 11:29 pm
Chaster Beach



I change into my bathing suit in the edge of the forest. For a moment, naked under the sweeping cedar limbs. I look out towards Chris and Kevin, who are both having a nap in the sand.

We cycled to this beach, taking a ferry along the way. A hot coffee on the ferry deck, sitting outside and up top, zipping up my down hoodie against the brisk morning wind. I pull a container of hulled strawberries from my pannier. Chris pulls out the same. We laugh at each other and share anyhow.

I emerge from the woods and lay my cycling clothes on the log.

“You’re going for it?” Chris asks.

I walk across the hot sand to the ocean. I wade in up to my knees. The tide is low, and I make my way slowly between the purple starfish and the bulbs of kelp. When I am deep enough, I dive down into the surf. The coldness penetrates into my hot muscles, and my skin tightens across my body.

Eyes open, the water clear, I search for sand dollars on the ocean floor. I dive down again and again, picking up shells. I stay at length in the cold water, embracing the sensation, loving the buoyancy. I can’t recall the last time that I swam in the ocean.

I return to the log and towel off my body. Wring my hair into the sand.

This, this is how the summer shall be.

Cycling and swimming and a full heart.


Roots | Shoots