SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Winter Blossoms - Friday, Jan. 10, 2020
New Year's Eve - Monday, Jan. 06, 2020
Nanaimo - Monday, Dec. 30, 2019
Before and After - Thursday, Dec. 26, 2019
The Birthday Dance - Friday, Dec. 20, 2019


Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019 @ 1:46 pm
You and Me



You and me in the pool in the dark, steam rising around us. I swim up to you, and you take my hand, and we dance in slow motion in the water.

You and me laying together in front of the fire, pillows pilfered from the bed, the light flickering across your skin.

You and me skinning up the side of a mountain. You letting me go first, skiing long turns through powder off the ridge into the bowl. I stop at a rise and turn to watch you ski, the smile on your face, the expertise of your movements.

You and me all dressed up fancy in the back of a taxi, flirting and holding hands. You meet my coworkers and they like you. And then we dance together, a little drunk and off-kilter, but nevertheless accomplishing a fluid pattern, laughing and joyful, our own private time in the middle of a public space.

We go to a going away party for a friend. There is a card to be signed, which is hidden in the guest room of the apartment. I go in quietly to sign the card. Others have already signed it, and I see that you have signed it. I read what you wrote, and you sign off with Love, Russell and my heart shrinks and expands at the same time. You are loving, and you love your friends, and I appreciate that about you. And I know that you love me too, even though you’ve never told me.

I realize in that moment that I know exactly what I want for my birthday


Roots | Shoots