SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Cherry Blossoms - Wednesday, Mar. 23, 2022
Going Out / Coming Home - Friday, Mar. 04, 2022
Anti-War - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2022
Safe - Saturday, Feb. 26, 2022
The Hut Trip - Thursday, Feb. 17, 2022


Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2022 @ 3:42 pm
Lost and Found



He’s coming over tonight. Someone who I curiously admired from afar for quite some time, after reading about him in a news article. I happened across him on social media - the algorithm suggested him to me - and I recalled his story and was immediately drawn to the way that he writes and his love for the same activities that I love. I followed him for months, a year, and then eventually unfollowed him while doing a feed purge.

He messaged me on Sunday night after I posted on a local message board about finding a helmet and goggles out in the backcountry behind the resort. While we were messaging to arrange to meet up to give him back his gear, my heart raced. I immediately recognized his profile picture. I didn’t know that he’d moved to the coast, as I’d stopped following him a while ago.

But he’s here, and I feel something. I feel chemistry. Am I making this up?

He keeps telling me tidbits about himself that are irrelevant to the situation. I know that he’s climbing in the sun in the bluffs this afternoon. I know that he’s coming into town for night time cross country skiing. I know that he skied right past the hut where we were staying this weekend, where his own helmet was staying without him.

I couldn’t sleep last night.

This could have been a turning point in my life, if I were single.

I was going to write about the hut trip, but instead I’m here writing about this man who uses my name when messaging me and seems to be trying to impress me.

The irony is that he needn’t bother. I’m already smitten.


Roots | Shoots