SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Six Months; Seven Months - Tuesday, Apr. 02, 2024
Five Months - Wednesday, Feb. 07, 2024
Biting the Hand - Monday, Jan. 29, 2024
The Chairlift - Sunday, Jan. 28, 2024
Four Months - Tuesday, Jan. 16, 2024


Sunday, Jan. 28, 2024 @ 11:51 am
The Chairlift



The four of us ride on the chairlift. Rain is falling, and my Gore-tex hood is zipped up around my helmet. My gloves are becoming heavier with each lap as they absorb more rain.The snow is soft and slushy, and the air is warm and fragrant, and this feels so much like home. Skiing in the rain.

On the far left is Anna, who has three children. Next is Wey, who has a five year old son. Next me. Then Keeva, who is young and single. We all just met tonight.

Wey is talking about taking his son skiing for the first time. He recounts a story, and when he finishes he turns towards me and Keeva.

“What about you two? Any kids over there on that side of the chair?”

We both say no.

Anna jumps in, “Too young.”

I laugh.

“Too old."


Roots | Shoots