SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Purgatory - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019
Day Fifteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Fourteen - Saturday, Feb. 09, 2019
Day Thirteen - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019
Atonement - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2019


Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004 @ 8:44 pm
Double Chocolate New Year Cookies



Last night amidst all the drunken debauchery I came to a profound realization. I've been living it all wrong. I've been living my life with the idea that what people say when drunk is the truth, tip-of-the-iceberg kind of truth where what they say is just a hint of what is really in their heads. This is wrong. What they say when drunk is a twisted version of what is in their heads, not to be believed unless repeated later in soberness. I can't believe I've let myself waste more than five years holding onto these fragile words which I discover now are handed out like pizza flyers.

Time to start clean, let wasted relationships die, and dive deep into thick friendships.

In the morning it's cookie making then to the 80's diner for a greasy spoon hangover fix. We walk the seawall, it's frozen cold and Mark pulls me over and buttons up my wool coat to the top, bundling me up, that's the sweetest thing anyone has ever done for me.

I deliver cookies to M and then to E, and he takes me out for hot chocolate. We sit on Main watching traffic, and he asks if he can call me tomorrow afternoon.

I am unbelievably happy right now. I feel loved and included.


Roots | Shoots