SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Very Much - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2020
Work From Home - Monday, Apr. 20, 2020
In Bed - Friday, Apr. 17, 2020
Hamilton - Tuesday, Apr. 14, 2020
Week Four - Wednesday, Apr. 08, 2020


Monday, Mar. 30, 2020 @ 12:08 pm
The Close Dance



I have the stereo playing vintage swing jazz. I work on a Leonard Reed tap dance break, trying to match to the quick pace of the music. Russell rolls back the corner of the rug, pushes my yoga mat around the corner into the entranceway. He walks towards me and takes my hand.

“Would you like to dance?”

“Why, yes, I would.”

My living room is not large, but there’s enough space. We dance closely, as if on a full dance floor. My rhythm is improving. All of the time alone in my apartment, working on my own. I will come out of this a better dancer.

When the song ends, we rest on the couch together and talk.

I mention something about the future. I don’t remember the exact topic. It doesn’t matter.

He turns to me.

“Hey,” he says, “There’s only so much that you can plan ahead. A lot can happen in a year.”

“Yeah, I know,” I agree.

He looks at me, trying to hide his smile but his blue eyes sparkling with a secret.

“You never know what might happen to change all of your plans this year.”


Roots | Shoots